Record Store Day 2018 list reveals some cracking exclusives

Audiophiles rejoice as this is our second Christmas!

The official Record Store Day release list has been revealed and this year’s contains some absolute crackers that will get any record collector counting down the days until April 21st.

RSD is a celebration of physical music and true independent record stores across the world which offers a day where bands and musicians release one offs and unusual releases that you can only pick up on the day, be prepared, queues often form early as these one offs are all extremely limited.

The list offers releases from music of all genres but we have sifted through the list and picked out some of the most eye catching, in our opinion anyway:

  • David Bowie – Welcome to the Blackout (Live London ’78) – Triple LP
  • Mallory Knox – Signals (RSD18) – Black/Gold
  • Led Zeppelin – Rock and Roll – 7″ Yellow
  • The Courteeners – St Jude – Double LP
  • Def Leppard – Live from Abbey Road – 12″
  • Descendents – Who We Are – 7″
  • Disturbed – The Lost Children – Double LP
  • DMX – X Gon’ Give It To Ya – 12″
  • Hayseed Dixie – It Happened So Grassed! Live in Scotland – Double LP
  • Jake Bugg – ALCOHOL – 7″
  • Jimi Hendrix – Mannish Boy / Trash Man – 7″
  • Linkin Park – One More Light Live – Double 12″
  • Madness – I Do Like To Be B-side The A-Side – LP
  • Mastodon – Emperor of Sand – 12″
  • Motorhead – Death Or Glory
  • Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds – It’s A Beautiful World (Remixes) – 12″
  • Nothing But Thieves – Crazy / Lover You Should’ve Come Over – 7″
  • Ocean Colour Scene – Marchin’ Already – Double LP
  • Pink Floyd – The Piper At The Gates Of Dawn – LP
  • The Police- Roxanne – Picture Disc – 7″
  • Prodigy – Keep It Thoro – LP
  • Rage Against The Machine – Democratic National Convention 2000 – LP
  • The Rolling Stones – Their Satanic Majesties Request – LP
  • Soundgarden – A-Sides – Double LP
  • Stone Sour – Hydrograd Acoustic Sessions – 12″
  • The Who – The Kids Are Alright (OST) – Double LP
  • Wolf Alice – Don’t Delete The Kisses (remix EP) – 12″

Better start saving now as April 21st will soon be upon us.

You can see the full list here

Bands re-issue albums in limited edition pink for charity

Rock record collectors, this will be definitely something you will be interested in!

Running for the fourth year now, ten bands will be re-issuing their albums as a limited edition pink vinyl, with all proceeds going towards sponsoring Gilda’s Club NYC.

This will include Metallica’s latest release Hardwired to Self Destruct, Mastodon’s Emperor of Sand and Four Year Strong’s ten year anniversary release of Rise or Die Trying.

You can find all of the albums up for this special limited re-issue up for pre-order on Banquet Records website

Album of the Week – Enter Shikari – The Spark

The first ever Album of the Week comes from the latest release from genre bending band Enter Shikari. Their return to the spotlight comes with their fifth release and probably the most refined yet different from the band yet, to the point when genre bending no longer accurately describes them.

The Spark feels more personal, and more defined, with songs like ‘The Sights’ and  ‘Take My Country Back’ reminding me of the Enter Shikari we all know and love but then songs such as ‘Rabble Rouser’ and ‘Shinrin-yoku’ introduces you to a different side to the band that isn’t often heard yet still work with the context of the album.

Check out the album below:

The band themselves often went out to say that this album was different to others, but they could say that before each of their albums, as part of their appeal is the constant evolution of their sound, taking different tones from album to album, but all still getting across their beliefs and messages clearly.

Check out Shikari’s latest video release here: